- Business One Stop now includes a special GATE subsite for prospective entrepreneurs!

The Small Business Advisory Board (SBAB)

On this page:


SBAB Description

The Small Business Advisory Board advises the Governor on issues impacting small business. The board is made up of representative from each congressional district plus three at large members. The board discusses state policies and programs and advocates for small businesses.

The board is appointed by the Governor and the membership consists of a representative from each Virginia Congressional District (11), three at-large members, and three ex-officio, non-voting members: District Director, SBA; Chairman, VSBFA Board; and Director, Virginia Department of Business Assistance. VDBA hosts SBAB meetings and provides administrative support. SBAB meetings are posted on the Commonwealth Calendar and are open to the public.

For information about SBAB, contact Wayne Waldrop

>> Return to Top of Page


Proposed FY 2011 Meeting Schedule

Sept 16, 2010
October 21, 2010
December 16, 2010
January 20, 2011
March 17, 2011
May 16, 2011 (after BAW breakfast)
June 16, 2011

All meetings will be held in the East Reading Room of the Patrick Henry Building located at 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, Va 23218 unless otherwise specified.

All meetings will begin at 10:00am unless otherwise specified.

>> Return to Top of Page


SBAB Resources

Board Members and Congressional District Map

Calendar of Meetings, FY 2010 (July 2009 to June 2010)

Meeting Minutes (Final; Approved):

June 17, 2010

May 17 , 2010

March 18, 2010

February 19, 2010 (Sub-Committee)

January 14, 2010

December 10, 2009

November 12, 2009

September 9, 2009

March 19, 2009

January 15, 2009

2008 Minutes Available by Request

>> Return to Top of Page


Small Business Advisory Board

Board of Directors

Phaedrus Acgtblu (2011)
Co-Founder & CEO, 45Fix, LLC
1928 Arlington Boulevard, Suite 107
Charlottesville, VA 22903
E-mail – pacgtblu@45Fix.com
Congressional District 5

Bernard E. Robinson (2011)
President and CEO, Networking Technologies and Support, Inc.
14421 Justice Road
Midlothian, VA 23113
E-mail - brobinson@networkingtech.com
Congressional District 4

Claire Guthrie Gastañaga (2012)
Owner, CG2 Consulting
501 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219
E-mail – cgg@cg2consulting.com
Congressional District 3

Greg Terrill (2012)
President, Frank Chervan, Inc.
2005 Greenbrier Avenue Southeast
Roanoke, VA 24013
E-mail – gterrill@chervan.com
Congressional District 6

Gena Thompson Burr (2009)
President, G­TT Enterprises, Inc.
204 Rivers Bend Boulevard
Chester, VA 23836-2698
E-mail - gena@gttenterprises.net
At Large Member

Roger Cole, Chair* (2014)
President, Highway Service Ventures, Inc.
10077 Poplar Hall Court
Mechanicsville, VA 23116
E-mail - rcole@hsvinc.com
At Large Member

Prescott Sherrod (2010)
President & CEO, PEMCCO Inc.
621 Lynnhaven Parkway, Suite 408
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
E-mail - prescott.sherrod@pemcco.com
Congressional District 2



Congressional District 7

Douglas M. Adams (2012)
President, The Country Vintner
12305 North Lakeridge Parkway
Ashland, VA 23005
E-mail - dadams@countryvintner.com
At Large Member

Lisa Watson McCarty (2012)
Publisher, Scott County Virginia Star
236 Homeplace Drive
Gate City, VA 24251
E-mail – lisa.mccarty@gmail.com
Congressional District 9

Ronald L. Seward (2012)
Owner, RLS Consulting, LLC
6723 Stonecutter Drive
Burke, VA 22015
E-mail – randpseward@erols.com
Congressional District 11

(vacant unexpired term)
Congressional District 10

Sylvia Le Torrente* (2014)
President & CEO, ACE Products, LLC.
1530 North Key Boulevard
Arlington, VA 22209
E-mail - sylviele@hotmail.com
Congressional District 8

Tom Inman* (2014)
President, Virginia Home Medical
2553 Pigeon Hill Road
Hayes, VA 23072
E-mail - Tom@virginiahomemedical.com
Congressional District 1


Ex-Officio Members, Non-Voting

Song Park
Chairman, Virginia Small Business Financing Authority
Fenway Financial Group, LLC.
5007 Cool Fountain Lane
Centreville, VA 20120
E-mail – vsbfa2014@gmail.com

Ronald E. Bew, District Director
U.S. Small Business Administration
Federal Building, Suite 1150
400 North 8th Street
Richmond, VA 23240
E-mail - ronald.bew@sba.gov


* New Appointees as of 9/24/10

>> Return to Top of Page

Congressional District Map

Click on the map to zoom view.

>> Return to Top of Page


Live Help

What kinds of questions do we answer?


VSBFA Resources


Follow us on twitter Follow us on facebook Follow us on Youtube Follow us on LinkedIn
© 2010, The Virginia Department of Business Assistance. All Rights Reserved. | Contact Us | Web Policy